use code startdressin

The Ocean ‎– Anthropocentric - New 2 LP Record 2019 Pelagic Vinyl Reissue - Hardcore / Post Rock / Prog

The Ocean ‎– Anthropocentric - New 2 LP Record 2019 Pelagic Vinyl Reissue - Hardcore / Post Rock / Prog

Regular price $32.99 $0.00


Pelagic Records ‎– PEL 089
Vinyl, LP
Vinyl, LP, Single Sided, Etched
All Media, Album, Reissue
01 Mar 2019
Hardcore, Post Rock, Prog Rock, Experimental


A1 Anthropocentric
A2 The Grand Inquisitor I: Karamazov Baseness
B1 She Was The Universe
B2 For He That Wavereth...
B3 The Grand Inquisitor II: Roots & Locusts
B4 The Grand Inquisitor III: A Tiny Grain Of Faith
C1 Sewers Of The Soul
C2 Wille Zum Untergang
C3 Heaven TV
C4 The Almightiness Contradiction

Companies, etc.

  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Pelagic Records
  • Copyright (c) – Pelagic Records
  • Recorded At – Studio Mécanique
  • Recorded At – ABC Théatre
  • Recorded At – Hidden Planet Studio
  • Recorded At – Oceanland Studios
  • Mixed At – Studio Mécanique
  • Mastered At – Chartmakers
  • Licensed From – Metal Blade Records


  • Artwork By – Martin Kvamme
  • Bass, Vocals – Louis Jucker
  • Cello – Esther Monnat (tracks: C4)
  • Cello [Additional] – Dalai Theofilopoulou (tracks: C4)
  • Drums – Luc Hess
  • Guitar – Jonathan Nido
  • Guitar [Solo] – Mitch Hertz (tracks: C1)
  • Mastered By – Jan Oberg (tracks: A1, A2, B1, B3, B4), Svante Forsbäck (tracks: B2, C1, C2, C3, C4)
  • Mixed By – Julien Fehlmann
  • Producer, Guitar, Electronics, Lyrics By, Arranged By – Robin Staps
  • Viola – Céline Portat (tracks: C4)
  • Violin – Estelle Beiner (tracks: C4)
  • Vocals – Loïc Rossetti, Sheila Aguinaldo (tracks: B4)


℗© 2018 Pelagic Records.

Recorded between July 2009 and July 2010.

Drums recorded at Studio Mécanique.

Strings recorded at ABC Théatre, La Chaux-de-Fonds, Switzerland.

Guitars and bass recorded at our homes and at Studio Mécanique.

Additional cello recorded at Hidden Planet Studios, Berlin, Germany.

Vocals recorded at the new Oceanland Studios, in a secret place on the Spanish coast.

Mastered at Chartmakers, Helsinki, Finland and at Hidden Planet Studios, Berlin, Germany.

The lyrics of track B1 contain excerpts of the poem 'Darkness' by Lord Byron.

B2 and C1 contain words by Friedrich Nietzsche.

The lyrics of this album were largely inspired by Fyodor Dostoyevsky's 'The Brothers Karamazov', particularly the chapter
The Grand Inquisitor, and contain many quotes and allusions to said novel.

Comes in a gatefold sleeve with gold hot foil stamp and metallic pantone inks, 2 printed inner sleeves. Side D has an engraving featuring artwork by Martin Kvamme. Comes with a download card.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 4059251129691