Tangents - Timeslips & Chimeras - New 2 LP Record 2021 Temporary Residence Limited - Electronic / Jazz

Tangents - Timeslips & Chimeras - New 2 LP Record 2021 Temporary Residence Limited - Electronic / Jazz

Regular price $21.99 $0.00



Tangents – Timeslips & Chimeras

Label: Temporary Residence Limited – TRR365
2 x Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: UK, Europe & US
Genre: Electronic, Jazz
Style: Abstract


A1 Exaptation
A2 Vessel
A3 Old Organs
B1 Survival
B2 Debris
B3 Bylong
C1 Lilliputian
C2 Ossicles
C3 Lost Track
D1 Timeslip
D2 Chimera
D3 Wonder


Australian improvising ensemble Tangents return with a ‘twin’ release that sees 2020’s Timeslips complemented with a second album, Chimeras. The Timeslips tracks, which were released in digital-only form under the subdued circumstances of the first COVID wave, are remastered and reissued in the newly merged Timeslips & Chimeras package, receiving a full release on 2xLP, CD, and all digital platforms. Timeslips & Chimeras marks the third Tangents release issued through the iconic Brooklyn label Temporary Residence Ltd. (home to Mogwai, Explosions In The Sky, MONO, William Basinski and more).

The two albums were created in tandem, with much of the material recorded in one day at Sydney’s Free Energy Device Studios in 2018. Timeslips leans towards more literal takes on the studio-improvised material, with Tangents’ usual blend of ambiguous post-production treatment. Chimeras expands into more constructed passages of iterated overdubs, lo-fi electric jams, additional studio takes and splintered extracts from the Timeslips sessions, offering more extreme twists, turns and stylistic variation through doomy rock and dub drones, ecstatic superjazz and abstract collages.




released July 30, 2021

Tangents are:
Ollie Bown: software, field recordings, synths
Evan Dorrian: drums, percussion, voice
Peter Hollo: cello, fx
Adrian Lim-Klumpes: piano, prepared piano, Rhodes, mallet percussion, organ, synths, fx

Additional musicians:
Sia Ahmad: guitar, percussion, synths (tracks 1-7) arrangement (track 5)
Nick Calligeros: trumpet (track 2)

Primary improvisations recorded at Free Energy Device Studios, Sydney
Recording and mix engineer: Richard Belkner
Additional recordings, composition, arrangement and production by Tangents
Mastered by Bob Weston
Artwork by Britt Hiatzus
Design by Jeremy DeVine

01 - Exaptation
02 - Vessel
03 - Old Organs
04 - Survival
05 - Debris
06 - Bylong

07 - Lilliputian
08 - Ossicles
09 - Lost Track
10 - Timeslip
11 - Chimera
12 - Wonder