2019 limited beer glass pre-order

Richard Swift - The Novelist / Walking Without Effort - New Vinyl Lp 2018 Secretly Canadian Reissue with Download - Indie / Folk Rock


Street Date: 12/7/18

Richard Swift's duo debuts, The Novelist and Walking Without Effort, are fraternal twins wrestling with same Big Questions in opposite ways - one toiling in a cinderblock basement slugging typewriter coffee; one lost on the Pacific Coast Highway, looking again and again for something in a sunset that just ain't there. One's wheezing through a crusty gramophone in some Artie Shaw air-conditioned nightmare; one's gliding on the soft tape of an 8-Track, fat tears welling up behind those outlandish 70s sunglasses. Taken together, they speak to Swift's wild, preternatural shapeshifting ability, an auteur's understanding of mood and place. Yet, you always know you're seeing these new places through Swift's translucent, wolven eyes. These two recordings are his 8½, both the portal and the Rosetta Stone to Swift's singular musical universe and language.


The Novelist
A1 Forward
A2 Lady Day
A3 Lovely Night
A4 Sadsong St.
B1 Blues For Mother
B2 The Novelist
B3 Ballad Of Clifford Swift
B4 Looing Back, I Should Have Been Home More
Walking Without Effort
C1 Walking Without Effort Theme
C2 Half Lit
C3 In The Air
C4 As I Go
C5 Above & Beneath
D1 Mexico (1977)
D2 Losing Sleep
D3 Not Wasting Time
D4 Beautifulheart


  • Arranged By [Horns] – Francis Albert Lenz (tracks: C1 to D4)
  • Banjo, Backing Vocals, Percussion – Francis Albert Lenz (tracks: A1 to B4)
  • Bass, Backing Vocals – Elijah B. Thomson* (tracks: A3, B4)
  • Clarinet – Greg Reilly 
  • Drum [Trap Set] – Francis Albert Lenz (tracks: A3, B4)
  • Drums, Backing Vocals – Francis Albert Lenz (tracks: C1 to D4)
  • Flugelhorn – Matt Fronke (tracks: C1 to D4)
  • Flute, Saxophone – Greg Reilly (tracks: C1 to D4)
  • Mixed By – Elijah Thomson, Francis Albert Lenz* (tracks: A1 to B4), Richard Swift  (tracks: 1.01 to 1.08)
  • Recorded By – Elijah B. Thomson* (tracks: A1 to B4), Francis Albert Lenz (tracks: A1 to B4), Richard Swift (tracks: A1 to B4)
  • Recorded By [Original Sessions] – Chris Colbert (tracks: C1 to D4)
  • Trumpet – Matt Fronke