New Shuga Exclusive Khruangbin Mordechi record with coloring cover to raise moner for Puerto Rican Arts Alliance

Covid-19 Updates: What we are doing and what to expect for shipping. Learn More

Lightning Bolt ‎– Sonic Citadel - New 2 LP Record 2019 Thrill Jockey USA Limited Edition Blue Vinyl & Download - Noise Rock

Lightning Bolt ‎– Sonic Citadel - New 2 LP Record 2019 Thrill Jockey USA Limited Edition Blue Vinyl & Download - Noise Rock

Regular price $25.99 $0.00

Lightning Bolt play with abandon that is unmatched and remarkably undiluted since the duo’s formation 25 years ago. They are often called one of the loudest rock outfits in existence, both on record and on (or famously, off) the stage. Brian Gibson creates sounds that are unexpected and remarkably varied with his virtuosic bass playing and his inventive approach to the instrument, centered around melody rather than rhythm. The dizzying fury of Brian Chippendale’s drums twist from primal patterns into disorienting break beats as his distorted, looped, and echoing vocals weave more melody into the mayhem. Amidst the fray there has always been shreds of a pop songs discernible in the eye of every Lightning Bolt song. For their seventh full length, Sonic Citadel, Gibson and Chippendale have done the daring, stripping away some of the distortion mask to reveal the naked pop forms as never before. Their relentless energy, inventiveness and, unrestrained joy still drive their songs, pulling you in and compelling you to bounce and yes, even sing along.

In the four years between album releases, each member’s increasingly prolific creative endeavors limited their time to create together. Brian Gibson was the sole artist, musician and co-designer of the acclaimed video game Thumper, which has since proliferated across a multitude of platforms, and won countless awards including the 2019 Apple Design Award. Brian Chippendale, who has always created the band’s visual art, released the graphic novel Puke Force, was included in Rolling Stone’s “100 Greatest Drummers of All Time,” and recently collaborated with fashion designers Eckhaus Latta.

The impact that Lightning Bolt has had on underground music since its inception is immense, and remains pervasive beyond any genre tag that has been attached to them. Sonic Citadel is the work of band unafraid to challenge themselves, unbound by expectations, joyfully defiant, and possessed of the same inventive curiosity which set them apart on day one and is unmatched still 25 years later.


Lightning Bolt ‎– Sonic Citadel

Label: Thrill Jockey ‎– THRILL 505
Format: 2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition, Blue
Country: US
Released: 11 Oct 2019
Genre: Rock
Style: Noise, Experimental


A1 Blow To The Head
A2 USA Is A Psycho
A3 Air Conditioning
B4 Hüsker Dönt
B5 Big Banger
B6 Halloween 3
C7 Don Henley In The Park
C8 Tom Thump
C9 Bouncy House
D10 All Insane
D11 Van Halen 2049

Companies, etc.

  • Pressed By – Record Technology Incorporated
  • Mastered At – Timeless Mastering
  • Lacquer Cut At – Trutone Mastering Labs
  • Recorded At – Machines With Magnets


  • Bass Guitar – Brian Gibson
  • Drums, Vocals – Brian Chippendale
  • Engineer, Recorded By, Mixed By – Seth Manchester
  • Lacquer Cut By – Carl Rowatti
  • Mastered By – Heba Kadry


Limited Colored Edition
Includes download redemption card via Thrill Jockey

Indie store exclusive

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Stickered): 790377505313