New Shuga Exclusive Khruangbin Mordechi record with coloring cover to raise moner for Puerto Rican Arts Alliance

Covid-19 Updates: What we are doing and what to expect for shipping. Learn More

John Mellencamp ‎– The Best That I Could Do (1978-1988) - New 2LP 2019 Record Compilation Reissue Limited Edition Gold Vinyl - Rock & Roll

John Mellencamp ‎– The Best That I Could Do (1978-1988) - New 2LP 2019 Record Compilation Reissue Limited Edition Gold Vinyl - Rock & Roll

Regular price $26.99 $0.00



The Best That I Could Do 1978–1988 is the first greatest hits compilation album by John Mellencamp, released in 1997. It compiles Mellencamp's most popular material recorded during his first decade, beginning with 1978's A Biography, up through 1987's The Lonesome Jubilee, with a new recording of Terry Reid's "Without Expression". Mellencamp picked the songs for the album and also came up with the title. The album reached #33 on the Billboard 200. Pressed on limited 2LP Gold vinyl!


A1 I Need A Lover
Bass – Robert FrankDrums – Tom KnowlesKeyboards – Brian Bekvar*Producer, Engineer – John Punter
A2 Ain't Even Done With The Night
Bass – Robert FrankDrums – Rick ShlosserEngineer – Bruce Robb, Dee RobbKeyboards – Eric RosserProducer – Steve CropperVibraphone [Vibes] – Kenny Aronoff
A3 Hurts So Good
Backing Vocals – Dave ParmanBass – Chocolate Perry*Engineer – George TutkoWritten-By [With John Mellencamp] – George Green (4)
A4 Jack And Diane
Backing Vocals – John Mellencamp*, Mick Ronson, Robert FrankBass – Robert FrankGuitar – Mick RonsonKeyboards – Eric Rosser
B1 Crumblin' Down
Backing Vocals – Carroll Sue HillKeyboards – Carroll Sue HillWritten-By [With John Mellencamp] – George Green (4)
B2 Pink Houses
Backing Vocals – Carroll Sue Hill, John Mellencamp*, Kenny AronoffBass – Willie WeeksEngineer – David ThoenerKeyboards – Jay Ferguson
B3 Authority Song 3:49
C1 Lonely Ol' Night 3:45
C2 Small Town
Backing Vocals – John Cascella, Kenny AronoffHarmonica – Larry Crane
C3 R.O.C.K. In The U.S.A.
Backing Vocals – Sarah FlintRecorder [Flutophone] – Larry Crane
D1 Paper In Fire 3:51
D2 Cherry Bomb 4:49
D3 Check It Out
Dulcimer [Hammer Dulcimer] – Kenny Aronoff
D4 Without Expression
Backing Vocals – Andy York, Moe Z*Drums – Dane ClarkEngineer – Paul MahernGuitar – Andy YorkKeyboards – Moe Z*Producer – Mike WanchicViolin – Miriam SturmWritten-By – Terry Reid

Companies, etc.

  • Licensed To – UMG Recordings, Inc.
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – John Mellencamp
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Riva Records, Inc.
  • Copyright (c) – John Mellencamp
  • Distributed By – Universal Music Enterprises
  • Published By – Full Keel Music
  • Published By – Riva Music, Inc.
  • Published By – John Mellencamp
  • Recorded At – Air Studios
  • Recorded At – Cherokee Studios
  • Recorded At – Criteria Recording Studios
  • Recorded At – TRC Studios
  • Recorded At – The Shack, Jackson County, Indiana
  • Recorded At – Belmont Mall Studio
  • Mastered At – Capitol Mastering


  • Accordion – John Cascella (tracks: D1 to D3)
  • Art Direction – Corsillo/Manzone, Design Monsters
  • Backing Vocals – Crystal Taliefero (tracks: D1, D3), Larry Crane (tracks: A3, A4, B2, B3, C3), Mike Wanchic (tracks: A3 to D3), Pat Peterson (tracks: D1 to D3), Toby Myers (tracks: B1, B2, C2, D2 to D4)
  • Bass – Toby Myers (tracks: B1, B3 to D4)
  • Drums – Kenny Aronoff (tracks: A3 to D3)
  • Engineer – David Leonard (tracks: D1 to D3), Greg Edward (tracks: B1, B3 to C3)
  • Guitar – Larry Crane (tracks: A1 to D3), Mike Wanchic (tracks: A2 to D3)
  • Keyboards – John Cascella (tracks: C2 to D3)
  • Lacquer Cut By – IS*
  • Liner Notes – Timothy White (2)
  • Management – Hoffman Entertainment, Inc.
  • Photography By – Paul Jasmin
  • Producer – John Mellencamp* (tracks: A3 to B1, D1 to D4), Little Bastard (tracks: B2 to C3)
  • Producer, Engineer – Don Gehman (tracks: A3 to D3)
  • Violin – Lisa Germano (tracks: D1 to D3)
  • Written-By – John Mellencamp* (tracks: A1 to D3)


2 LP set in single sleeve jacket.
Includes insert containing credits and liner notes.


Tags: Pop / rock, Rock