Mungion Ferris Wheels Day Off Random Color Vinyl double LP Gatefold
Vesper years shuga records limited edition signed and numbered color vinyl

Hiss Golden Messenger - Haw - New Vinyl Lp 2018 Merge Deluxe Remastered Reissue with Liner Notes and Download - Alt-Country / Indie Folk


Street Date: 11/2/18

Composed and arranged by Head Messenger M.C. Taylor at his home in the rural Piedmont mill town of Pittsboro and recorded with longtime collaborator Scott Hirsch in New York, California and North Carolina, Poor Moon offers a moving culmination of the spiritually-charged song cycle commenced on the critically acclaimed album Bad Debt. Treading a red-clay road between Bad Debt and Country Hai East Cotton in sound and sentiment, it is the first fully electric ensemble recording since the highly limited Hiss Golden Messenger live release Root Work in 2010. Featuring contributions from Terry Lonergan, Nathan Bowles (Black Twig Pickers; Pelt), Hans Chew (D. Charles Speer & the Helix), Matt Cunitz (Brightblack Morning Light), Tom Heyman (The Court & Spark), and others, Poor Moon represents both an elaboration and inversion of previous Hiss Golden Messenger efforts, proposing an America at perpetual sundown, wracked by devotion, wrecked by celebration. Named in homage to the Canned Heat track penned by the immortal Blind Owl, Poor Moon conjures the unsteady experience of soul at home in the wild, and it stands as a captivating document of Southern songcraft. Haw remastered by Chris Boerner at Kitchen Mastering. Artwork reimagined by Sam Smith (Lateness of Dancers).


A1 Red Rose Nantahala
A2 Sufferer (Love My Conqueror)
A3 I've Got A Name For The Newborn Child
A4 Hat Of Rain
A5 Devotion
B1 The Serpent Is Kind (Compared To Man)
B2 Sweet As John Hurt
B3 Cheerwine Easter
B4 Hark Maker (Glory Rag)
B5 Busted Note
B6 What Shall Be (Shall Be Enough)



  • Artwork, Design, Layout – Brendan Greaves
  • Backing Vocals – Sonia Turner
  • Banjo – Nathan Bowles
  • Drums, Percussion – Terry Lonergan
  • Electric Guitar, Bass Guitar, Producer, Recorded By, Mixed By – Scott Hirsch
  • Fiddle – Joseph Decosimo
  • Guitar [Telecaster] – William Tyler
  • Guitar, Mandolin, Vocals, Written-By, Producer – M.C. Taylor
  • Mastered By – Joe Lambert
  • Mixed By [Assistant] – Mario Viele
  • Organ [Hammond] – Matt Cunitz
  • Pedal Steel Guitar – Gordon Hartin
  • Piano [Acoustic], Organ [Rhodes], Organ [Wurlitzer] – Phil Cook
  • Recorded By [Additional] – Brian Haran
  • Saxophone – Bobby Crow
  • Strings, Arranged By – Mark Paulson