Giant Sand - The Sun Set Vol. 1 - New 8 Lp Record Store Day 2016 Fire UK Import RSD Vinyl Box Set & Download - Alternative Rock / Indie Rock / Folk Rock

Giant Sand - The Sun Set Vol. 1 - New 8 Lp Record Store Day 2016 Fire UK Import RSD Vinyl Box Set & Download - Alternative Rock / Indie Rock / Folk Rock

Regular price $119.99 $0.00

Giant Sand ‎– The Sun Set Vol 1

Fire Records ‎– FAME007, Fire America ‎– FAME007
8 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Compilation
Box Set, Limited Edition
16 Apr 2016
Jazz, Rock, Blues
Alternative Rock, Country Rock, Folk Rock, Indie Rock


Ballad Of A Thin Line Man
A1 Thin Line Man
A2 All Along The Watchtower
A3 Graveyard
A4 Body Of Water
A5 Last Legs
B1 You Can't Put Your Arms Around A Memory
B2 A Hard Man To Get To Know
B3 Who Am I
B4 The Chill Outside
B5 Desperate Man
Blurry Blue Mountain
C1 Fields Of Green
C2 Chunk Of Coal
C3 The Last One
C4 Monk's Mountain
C5 Spellbound
C6 Ride The Rail
C7 Lucky Star Love
D1 Thin Line Man
D2 No Tellin'
D3 Brand New Swamp Thing
D4 Erosion
D5 Time Flies
D6 Better Man Than Me
D7 Love A Loser
Center Of The Universe
E1 Seeded ('Tween Bone And Bark)
E2 Pathfinder
E3 Center Of The Universe
E4 Off Ramp Man
E5 Year Of The Dog
E6 Live To Tell
E7 Thrust
F1 Loretta And The Insect World
F2 Sonic Drive In
F3 Milkshake Girl
F4 Stuck
F5 Thing Like That
F6 Return To Fodder
F7 Unwed And Well Sped
F8 Solomon's Ride
Chore Of Enchantment
G1 Overture
G2 (Well) Dusted (For The Millenium)
G3 Punishing Sun
G4 X-tra Wide
G5 1972
G6 Temptation Of Egg
G7 Raw
H1 Wolfy
H2 Shiver
H3 Dirty From The Rain
H4 Astonished (In Memphis)
H5 No Reply
I1 Satellite
I2 Bottom Line Man
I3 Way To End The Day
I4 Shrine
J1 Astonished (In Tucson)
J2 Dusted (In Tucson)
J3 Shiver (In Tucson)
J4 Punishing Sun (In Tucson)
J5 Bad (Not Good)
K1 Glum
K2 Yer Ropes
K3 Happenstance
K4 Frontage Road
K5 Painted Bird
L1 1 Helvakowboy Song
L2 Spun
L3 Left
L4 Faithful
L5 Bird Song
L6 I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry
Goods And Services
M1 Back To The Grey
M2 Opus - Solomon's Ride - Opus
N1 Good And Gone
N2 Bender
N3 Welcome To My World
O1 Occupied
O2 Warm Storm
P1 You're So Vain
P2 Surfin' Lean
P3 Trickle Down System

Companies, etc.

  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Fire Records
  • Copyright (c) – Fire Records


  • Photography By [Back Cover] – Jon Jenkins
  • Photography By [Cover], Liner Notes – Howe Gelb
  • Sleeve [Design] – John Foster (19)


From Fire Records website:

"The complete A-Z of Giant Sand will be released alphabetically rather than chronologically, highlighting the careening career and wandering muse of Howe Gelb and his assembled sun blasted slingers. The final volume will bring all three volumes together and include an album of bonus material and an exclusive book on the band and their history.

As a parting farewell gift, Fire Records will release a dreamy three volume box set of vinyl entitled; “The Sun Set”. Limited to 2000 copies of each box.

This first volume is released 16th April for Record Store Day 2016 on Fire Records.

Volume One:
Ballad of a Thin Line Man (1986) 1LP
Blurry Blue Mountain (2010) 1LP
Center of the Universe (1992) 1LP
Chore of Enchantment (2000) 2LP
Glum (1994) 1LP
Goods and Services (1995) 2LP

The hardboard slipcase box set contains six albums across eight 12” vinyl and features extensive and entertaining liner notes from Howe Gelb himself."

Includes Download With Bonus Tracks (Detailed here: The Sun Set Vol 1)

Each vinyl LP displays its own catalogue # as follows:
Ballad Of A Thin Line Man FAME011
Blurry Blue Mountain FAME025
Center Of The Universe FAME017
Chore Of Enchantment FAME022
Glum FAME020
Goods And Services FAME021

Tracks on Disc 2 side B of Chore of Enchantment are bonus tracks (J1 to J5). Tracklisting order printed incorrectly on the sleeve. Correct order as shown above.

Tracks C4 and D6 are shorter edits than the versions available on the original CD release of Giant Sand - Blurry Blue Mountain. Durations printed on sleeve incorrectly state duration of full-length versions.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 809236100719