New Shuga Exclusive Khruangbin Mordechi record with coloring cover to raise moner for Puerto Rican Arts Alliance

Covid-19 Updates: What we are doing and what to expect for shipping. Learn More

David Bowie ‎– The Man Who Sold The World - VG Lp Record (Low grade cover) 1970's Unofficial Repress Etched Matrix USA Original Vinyl - Rock

Regular price $29.99 $0.00

David Bowie ‎– The Man Who Sold The World

Mercury (2) ‎– SR-61325
Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, Unofficial Release, Stereo
Hard Rock, Glam



A1 The Width Of A Circle 8:07
A2 All The Madmen 5:38
A3 Black Country Rock 3:33
A4 After All 3:52
B1 Running Gun Blues 3:12
B2 Saviour Machine 4:27
B3 She Shook Me Cold 4:13
B4 The Man Who Sold The World 3:58
B5 The Supermen 3:39


Companies, etc.

  • Record Company – Mercury Record Corporation (2)
  • Distributed By – Mercury Record Productions, Inc. (2)
  • Manufactured By – Mercury Record Productions, Inc. (2)
  • Published By – P.R.S.
  • Recorded At – Trident Studios
  • Recorded At – Advision Studios
  • Remixed At – Trident Studios



  • Drums – Mick Woodmansey
  • Electric Bass, Producer, Piano, Guitar – Tony Visconti
  • Engineer – Ken*
  • Executive-Producer – Robin McBride
  • Guitar – Mick Ronson
  • Synthesizer [Moog] – Ralph Mace
  • Vocals, Guitar, Written-By – David Bowie



Counterfeit of the original US Mercury edition of the album, see David Bowie - The Man Who Sold The World.
For visually similar counterfeit with simpler matrices, please see David Bowie - The Man Who Sold The World.

Not dated but it is fair to speculate pressed sometime post-1972 when Bowie was becoming more well known.
The country is also unknown but judging by the sleeve construction probably USA. There are said to be many more bootlegs of this album than real copies as it sold very few on release.
The bootleg is a very faithful reproduction of the original and appears almost exactly identical except for three prominent differences:
1- the matrix # is hand-scratched, NOT machine stamped
2- about 2 seconds of music is missing from All The Madmen, there is an edit that removes the words 'they're all as sane as me' from the line 'For I'm quite content they're all as sane as me' from the end of the first chorus (although you can hear the start of the word "they're" if you listen closely). Someone who had not heard the album before would probably not notice this edit. This is not a skip, it is quite smoothly done and sounds like a tape edit. It suggests there was some imperfection with the source material which was deliberately edited out. Therefore this also suggests the audio is taken from an archival copy of the vinyl and dubbed to tape, rather than a master tape transfer.
Apart from this omission the music is of a professional sounding quality and artwork appears identical
3 - The rear cover speech bubble "Oh by jingo" on an actual Mercury cover is very close to the lyrics above it (less than a lyric line space below the lyric "So softly a supergod cries (second times dies)" ), whereas on counterfeits the speech bubble is almost three line spaces below.