Cornelius - Fantasma (1997) - New 2 LP Record 2016 Fat Possum USA Vinyl - Synth-pop / Indie Rock

Cornelius - Fantasma (1997) - New 2 LP Record 2016 Fat Possum USA Vinyl - Synth-pop / Indie Rock

Regular price $24.99 $0.00


 Listen, have you ever gotten some real gear-grinding, deepweb Food Network, full-on DGAF munchies so bad that you will mix anything concievably edible to satisy your high ass? Picture that, but instead of cramming your ma's homemade ravioli into the leftovers of a PB&J or even crazier, ordering pineapple on a pizza, your ears are getting a one-way ticket to the quintessential Flavortown (shout out to the mans Fieri) of potlucked nibbles and bites from just about every facet of music itself. Often compared to the likes of Beck and even the bowl cut lord of the studio himself, Brian Wilson, Keigo Oyamada AKA Cornelius, a musical savant hailing from Japan's own Tokyo is one of those few and far in-between artists that truly can make something so familiar feel so new, this example being the ability to play not just one single instrument, but the studio itself. Everything from Jazz, to Funk, to Post-Rock, to old instructional record samples are uncovered within the confines of these righteous grooves, creating a sense of understanding for misunderstanding, if you can get down with the get down. Originally released in '98, but finally back on slab of wax, Cornelius's Fantasma still shines bright as a beautiful, starry bullet point in the realm of the continuous musical evolution of humanity itself. Expect the unexpected. Just Do It. Nike. Get you some Cornelius. Etc.


Cornelius ‎– Fantasma

Fat Possum Records ‎– none, Lefse Records ‎– Lefse077
2 × Vinyl, LP, Reissue
Electronic, Rock
Leftfield, Synth-pop, Indie Rock


A1 Mic Check
Scratches – Moog Yamamoto
A2 The Micro Disneycal World Tour
A3 New Music Machine
A4 Clash
A5 Count Five Or Six
B6 Monkey
B7 Star Fruits Surf Rider
B8 Chapter 8 - Seashore And Horizon
Vocals – Hilarie Sidney, Robert Schneider
B9 Free Fall
C10 2010
Scratches – Moog Yamamoto
C11 God Only Knows
C12 Thank You For The Music
Banjo – Sean O'Hagan
C13 Fantasma
D14 Taylor
D15 Lazy
D16 Ball In Kick Off
D17 Typewrite Lesson

Companies, etc.

  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Fat Possum Records, LLC
  • Copyright (c) – Fat Possum Records, LLC
  • Manufactured By – Fat Possum Records
  • Distributed By – Fat Possum Records
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Warner Music Japan Inc.
  • Copyright (c) – Warner Music Japan Inc.
  • Published By – Invisible Handshake Publishing
  • Published By – BMG Chrysalis
  • Pressed By – Memphis Record Pressing – MRP0187


  • Lacquer Cut By – CJH*
  • Written-By, Producer – Keigo Oyamada


Gatefold album with two identical printed inner sleeves. Download code included.
Tracks listed sequentially on jacket and center labels.
Tracks D14 to D17 are bonus tracks not on the original album.
Lefse Records is only mentioned on the download card and the runouts. Catalog number taken from runouts.
Lacquer and pressing info taken from from runouts.
'Monkey' credited as 'Magoo Opening' on sleeve and inner sleeves but 'Monkey' on center label.
"Chapter 8 - Seashore And Horizon" credited as "Chapter 8 (Seashore And Horizon)" on center label.

Text on the bottom right of the jacket reads:
© & ℗ Fat Possum Records, LLC
Manufactured and Distributed
By Fat Possum Records
P.O. Box. 1923 - Oxford, MS 38655

© & ℗ Warner Music Japan Inc.
Invisible Handshake Publishing - Administered by BMG/Chrysalis
*Except "Magoo Opening" - Written by Dennis Famon and "Chapter 8 - Seashore and Horizon" - Co-Written by Robert Schneider and Hilarie Sidney

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 767981155012