New Shuga Exclusive Khruangbin Mordechi record with coloring cover to raise moner for Puerto Rican Arts Alliance

Covid-19 Updates: What we are doing and what to expect for shipping. Learn More

Alice Clark - Alice Clark - New Lp 2019 WeWantSounds RSD Limited Reissue with 20-Page Booklet - Soul

Alice Clark - Alice Clark - New Lp 2019 WeWantSounds RSD Limited Reissue with 20-Page Booklet - Soul

Regular price $43.99 $0.00

Street Date: 4/13/19

First official worldwide LP reissue of Alice Clark's highly sought-after soul jazz classic produced by Mainstream Records' Bob Shad in 1972. When it comes to legendary albums, very few can match the cult status achieved on the international jazz and funk scene, by Alice Clark's eponymous album. The record which went unnoticed when it first came out has become one of the most sought-after albums ever since it became cult on the London jazz and funk scene in the late '80s. It is now being acknowledged as one of the best soul albums of all-times. Recorded live over two days at the Record Plant studios in New York City, the album was produced by Bob Shad and arranged by jazz veteran Ernie Wilkins with a big band setting. The music is a superb mix of jazz and soul blessed by Clark's superb singing and including two all-time favorites, "Don't You Care" and "Never Did I Stop Loving You", plus a selection of heart-wrenching songs beautifully sung by Clark. Very little is known about Alice Clark and the legendary two-day session. All is known is she only ever recorded one album and passed away in the early 2000s. Wewantsounds will tell the Alice Clark story for the first time and give a unique insight into the birth of this cult album with a deluxe release that will pay tribute to her talent. Featuring original artwork, remastered sound plus a deluxe 20-page booklet telling the whole story for the first time. The booklet will include many never-seen, jaw- dropping photos of the session by legendary NY jazz photographer Ray Ross plus an introduction by Shad's grandchildren, Mia and Judd Apatow, liner notes by NY music journalist Marcus J. Moore, an homage by Clark's grandson, and a note by the session's original engineer, Carmine Rubino. The booklet will also reveal most of the line-up for the first time (the original LP didn't contain any musician credit) making this set a long overdue tribute to one of the best soul albums ever recorded.


A1 I Keep It Hid 3:27
A2 Looking At Life 3:10
A3 Don't Wonder Why 3:22
A4 Maybe This Time 3:18
A5 Never Did I Stop Loving You 2:34
B1 Charms Of The Arms Of Love 2:38
B2 Don't You Care 2:49
B3 It Takes Too Long To Learn To Live Alone 3:34
B4 Hard Hard Promises 3:05
B5 Hey Girl 3:16