New Shuga Exclusive Khruangbin Mordechi record with coloring cover to raise moner for Puerto Rican Arts Alliance

Covid-19 Updates: What we are doing and what to expect for shipping. Learn More

Mirah - Understanding - New Vinyl Lp 2018 K Records Pressing with Gatefold Jacket - Indie Pop

Mirah - Understanding - New Vinyl Lp 2018 K Records Pressing with Gatefold Jacket - Indie Pop

Regular price $17.99 $0.00

Street Date: 9/7/18

Understanding, Mirah’s sixth full length solo record, is a conscious return to her early unconventional recording process – an embrace of spirited imperfection and rawness inclusive of rough takes, natural room sounds and a fair amount of broken equipment. Bathed it he sparkles of disco ball light, Mirah recorded demos with vocals, guitar, organ and percussion in a former army barracks gymnasium at The Headlands Center for the Arts where she spent four weeks as an artist in residence. Once home in Brooklyn, Mirah teamed up with her frequent co-producer Eli Crews (tUnE-yArDs, The Julie Ruin, Son Lux) and invited Deerhoof’s Greg Saunier to join them in the studio. The collaboration sparked new textures and ideas. Building on top of Mirah’s vibrant original tracks they used MIDI to transform a marimba into a distorted farfisa melody, drastically lowered the pitch of vocals until they morphed into sub-bass lines and added layers of distinct timbres from Crews’ extensive vintage synth collection, a mellotron and an ‘80s era Soviet drum machine. Written and recorded in a time of political And personal upheaval – family illness and a death of a dear friend, all in the shadow of the 2016 presidential election and its aftermath – Understanding presents an even hand of political themes, love songs and introspective rallying cries. As Mirah explains, “We all have needs and we all have dreams. We want so much to feel love and to give to each other, to ourselves, to the world. But how does this fit in with the constant barrage of information and distraction, of truth and lies? How do we get through this rapidly fluctuating reality with a sense of resilience and empowerment?” One of the best lyricists of our generation, Mirah uses her sharp intellect, empathy and a measure of levity to shine a light on the world around us and the ways of our own hearts, showing us that understanding is what we all need a little more of.


A1 Counting
A2 Information
A3 Lake Ocean
A4 Lighthouse
A5 Blinding By The Pretty Light
B1 Ordinary Day
B2 Hot Hot
B3 Love Jetty
B4 Sundial
B5 Energy

Companies, etc.

  • Mixed At – Figure 8 Recording, Brooklyn, NYC, NY
  • Mastered At – Peerless Mastering


  • Mastered By – Jeff Lipton, Maria Rice
  • Mixed By, Recorded By – Eli Crews
  • Recorded By – Greg Saunier, Mirah