Attention Customers: Allow of some shipping delays while we finish a remodel on our warehouse

Nightlands - I Can Feel The Night Around Me - New LP Record 2017 Western Vinyl & Download - Indie Rock / Dream Pop / Electronic

Nightlands - I Can Feel The Night Around Me - New LP Record 2017 Western Vinyl & Download - Indie Rock / Dream Pop / Electronic

Regular price $17.99 $0.00

Quantity - 3

I Can Feel the Night Around Me, the third album from Philadelphia's Nightlands, showcases Dave Hartley's finely tuned ability to layer his voice and conjure some of the most beautiful and elaborate virtual choirs in modern music. If his first two records were vocal layering experiments, his third stands as Hartley's thesis statement: "I was determined to use vocal stacking to enable my songwriting, not shroud or obscure it." He recorded most of the album alone in a cold warehouse basement, which he affectionately calls The Space -- it's where The War on Drugs (of whom Hartley has been a core member for the past decade) formerly rehearsed and stored their equipment. "The dissonance between the sound of the album and the atmosphere in which it was recorded is pretty striking," Hartley says. Indeed the music seems more geographically inspired by the microclimates of the Lost Coast and the moonrises of Big Sur than the post-industrial cityscape of North Philadelphia. Perhaps his periodic westward sojourns and healthy obsessions with mid-career Beach Boys albums and Denis Johnson's Already Dead: A California Gothic were influencing him more than he was aware.

Nightlands – I Can Feel The Night Around Me

Label: Western Vinyl – WV158
Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: US
Genre: Rock
A1 Lost Moon
DrumsEric Slick
Piano, Synthesizer [Prophet]Robbie Bennett
SaxophoneJoseph Shabason
Synthesizer [DX7]Severin Tucker
Vocals, Guitar, Bass, Synthesizer [Prelude]Dave Hartley*
A2 Depending On You
DrumsRicardo Lagomasino
Electric GuitarCarter Tanton
PianoRobbie Bennett
VocalsEliza Hardy Jones, Louise Hayat-Camard, Paloma Gil
Vocals, Electric Guitar, Synthesizer [Juno 60], Synthesizer [JP-8000], Synthesizer [Prelude]Dave Hartley*
A3 Easy Does It
HarpMary Lattimore
Synthesizer [DX7]Severin Tucker
Vocals, Fretless Bass, Acoustic Guitar, Mellotron, Synthesizer [JP-8000], Synthesizer [Juno 60], PercussionDave Hartley*
A4 Only You Know
Vocals, Guitar, Bass, Piano, Synthesizer [DX7], Synthesizer [Juno 60]Dave Hartley*
B1 Love's In Love
GuiroCharlie Hall (7)
Pedal Steel GuitarAnthony Lamarca
VocalsJesse Hale Moore
Vocals, Guitar, Fretless Bass, Synthesizer [Juno 60]Dave Hartley*
B2 Fear Of Flying
Synthesizer [DX7]Severin Tucker
Synthesizer [Prophet]Frank LoCrasto
Vocals, Bass, Synthesizer [Prelude], Synthesizer [JP-8000], PercussionDave Hartley*
Vocals, Synthesizer [Quartet]Eliza Hardy Jones
B3 You're Silver
Synthesizer [DW-8000]Eliza Hardy Jones
Synthesizer [MS-10], Synthesizer [Prophet 600], Synthesizer [Odyssey]Michael Johnson (9)
Synthesizer [Modular]Severin Tucker
VocalsNick Krill
Vocals, Fretless Bass, Guitar, Synthesizer [Juno 60], Synthesizer [Quartet], Synthesizer [Prelude], Synthesizer [JP-8000], Organ [Hammond], PercussionDave Hartley*
B4 Moonbathing
Pedal Steel GuitarAnthony Lamarca
Strings, Arranged By [String Arrangement]James Lavino
Synthesizer [DX7]Severin Tucker
VocalsEliza Hardy Jones
Vocals, Bass, Guitar, Organ [Hammond], Synthesizer [Juno 60], Percussion, Synthesizer [JP-8000]Dave Hartley*
B5 Human Hearts
Electric Piano [Rhodes], Synthesizer [Prophet], Synthesizer [Juno 60]Robbie Bennett
VocalsAnthony Montesano, Eliza Hardy Jones, Michael Montesano
Vocals, Guitar, Synthesizer [JP-8000], Synthesizer [Quartet], Synthesizer [Prophet]Dave Hartley*
  • Engineered At – The Space, Philadelphia
  • Produced At – The Space, Philadelphia
  • Engineered At – Kawari Sound
  • Engineered At – Miner Street Recordings
  • Engineered At – Peppermint Productions
  • Mixed At – Long Pond
  • Mixed At – Paper Lab Recording
  • Published By – Amber Sea Music
  • Published By – ABKCO Music
  • Published By – Mother Bertha Music
  • Published By – Locrasto Publishing
  • Copyright © – Western Vinyl
  • Phonographic Copyright ℗ – Western Vinyl
  • Pressed By – GZ Media – 152767E
  • Design [Cover Design]Daniel Murphy (3)
  • Engineer [Additional Engineering]Brian McTear, Gary Rhamy, Jonathan Low, Matt Poirier*, Nick Krill, Zach Goldstein
  • Engineer, ProducerDave Hartley*
  • Mixed ByJonathan Low (tracks: A1 to A4, B3, B4), Nick Krill (tracks: B1, B2, B5)
  • SongwriterDave Hartley* (tracks: A1 to A3, B1 to B5), Frank Locrasto (tracks: B2), Gerry Goffin (tracks: A4), Phil Spector (tracks: A4)
Includes a custom inner sleeve and a download card.

Engineered/produced [...] in Philadelphia @ The Space

Additional engineering by Nick Krill, Jonathan Low, Zach Goldstein (Kawari Sound), Brian McTear and Matt Poirier (Miner Street), Gary Rhamy (Peppermint Productions)

Tracks A1-A4, B3 & B4 mixed [...] at Long Pond
Tracks B1, B2 & B5 mixed [...] at Paper Lab Recording

All songs written by Dave Hartley (Amber Sea Music ASCAP)
Except "Only you Know" - Phil Spector/Gerry Goffin (ABKCO Music BMI/Mother Bertha Music BMI)
and "Fear Of Flying" - Dave Hartley/Frank Locrasto (Amber Sea Music ASCAP/Locrasto Publishing SESAC)

© & ℗ 2017 Western Vinyl
  • Rights Society: ASCAP
  • Rights Society: BMI
  • Rights Society: SESAC
  • Barcode: 7 15937 43901 1
  • Matrix / Runout (A-side runout, stamped): 152767E1/A
  • Matrix / Runout (B-side runout, stamped): 152767E2/A