2019 limited beer glass pre-order

David Chesworth ‎– Layer On Layer - New Vinyl Lp 2019 Chapter Music Limited Reissue on Neon Yellow Vinyl - Australian New Wave / Post-Punk / Synth


Street Date: 4/5/19

Chapter Music presents a vinyl reissue of Australian post-punk icon David Chesworth's mutant punk-funk second album, 1981's Layer On Layer. After his revered 1979 debut 50 Synthesizer Greats (reissued by Chapter in 2017), David swapped the solo home-recorded synths for something very different - infectious, percussive art-funk weirdness. Aged 21, David recorded nights and weekends at the studio in his university's music department, building Layer On Layer from the ground up, using non-instruments like telephone directories, cardboard boxes and car parts. He created an art-damaged sound world, driven by irresistible rhythms but emphasizing chance and experimentation. Robert Goodge, Chesworth's bandmate in the celebrated Essendon Airport, contributes his trademark cyclical guitar, with Tsk Tsk Tsk's Ralph Traviato on sax and other Tsk members Philip Brophy, Jayne Stevenson and Maria Kozic on backing vocals.Layer On Layer was the beginning of David's investigations into rhythm, and remains one of his most striking works. His 70s/80s records and productions have become sought-after collectors' items and DJ holy grails. Chesworth is now a renowned composer sound artist.For digital bonus tracks, David has revisited Layer On Layer tracks to create mutant DJ versions.The first pressing of this reissue is on neon yellow vinyl.


A1 Thoughtful Food
A2 Who's Asking?
A3 Music Speaks
A4 The Bits That Move Together
B1 Power
B2 When The Beats Meet
B3 Finding Out
B4 The Unstated Weight
B5 Shiting Out Funk
B6 Rite Is Rite
B7 No Voices


  • Guitar – Robert Goodge
  • Producer – David Chesworth
  • Saxophone – Ian Cox (tracks: B6), Ralph Traviato (tracks: A4)
  • Vocals – → ↑ → (tracks: A4)