The Co-Op - S/T - New Vinyl Record 2016 Brown Brothers 180Gram Gatefold Pressing (Numbered to 2000) - Contemporary Jazz

The Co-Op - S/T - New Vinyl Record 2016 Brown Brothers 180Gram Gatefold Pressing (Numbered to 2000) - Contemporary Jazz

Regular price $18.99 $0.00

Quantity - 3

According to the liner notes for this record that's guaranteed to knock you out in a good way, both musically and sonically, the aggregate known as "The CO-OP" began as an "ad-hoc" backing band for the Swedish singer-songwriter Malin Johansson, A/KA Blue Utopia. The more you search online for information about Ms. Johansson or Blue Utopia, the less you'll find, not that it really matters.

Back in 2007 the Brown Brothers, which I think is a loose association of New York City area musicians and cultural mavens wanted to "cross-pollinate" jazz and pop musicians, so they called upon trombonist and band leader Wycliffe Gordon to lead a group backing the mysterious Johansson. The equally mysterious Brown Brothers had noted Gordon's various gigs around New York, including one with his quartet at The Village Vanguard back in 2006.

The Brothers completed the group with bassist/composer Derrick Hodge, trumpeter/flugelhorn player and composer Jeremy Pelt, drummer/composer Kendrick Scott and keyboardist (vibes, marimba, piano, glockenspiel) Warren Wolf.

In other words a group of highly accomplished musicians, all of whom were composers/bandleaders.The liner notes don't discuss the outcome of the Blue Utopia gig, or if there even was one, but when the group of band leaders/composers got together the results were so harmonious all decided to compose, play and record together, the result being this musically adventurous, often playful and good humored album. It also has some simmering, darker moments and more that are lustrous and beautiful.


A1 Simplicity 6:01
A2 The Theme 5:16
A3 Journey 7:37
B1 Katrina 8:02
B2 Jake's Dilemma 4:38
B3 Now Or Never 2:56
B4 Okay! 4:14


  • Acoustic Bass, Electric Bass – Derrick Hodge
  • Drums, Percussion – Kendrick Scott
  • Trombone – Wycliffe Gordon
  • Trumpet, Flugelhorn – Jeremy Pelt
  • Vibraphone, Marimba, Piano, Electric Piano, Glockenspiel – Warren Wolf