New Shuga Exclusive Khruangbin Mordechi record with coloring cover to raise moner for Puerto Rican Arts Alliance

Covid-19 Updates: What we are doing and what to expect for shipping. Learn More

Hiss Golden Messenger - Poor Moon - New Vinyl Lp 2018 Merge Deluxe Remastered Reissue with Liner Notes and Download - Alt-Country / Indie Folk

Hiss Golden Messenger - Poor Moon - New Vinyl Lp 2018 Merge Deluxe Remastered Reissue with Liner Notes and Download - Alt-Country / Indie Folk

Regular price $19.99 $0.00

Street Date: 11/2/18

Composed and arranged by Head Messenger M.C. Taylor at his home in the rural Piedmont mill town of Pittsboro and recorded with longtime collaborator Scott Hirsch in New York, California and North Carolina, Poor Moon offers a moving culmination of the spiritually-charged song cycle commenced on the critically acclaimed album Bad Debt. Treading a red-clay road between Bad Debt and Country Hai East Cotton in sound and sentiment, it is the first fully electric ensemble recording since the highly limited Hiss Golden Messenger live release Root Work in 2010. Featuring contributions from Terry Lonergan, Nathan Bowles (Black Twig Pickers; Pelt), Hans Chew (D. Charles Speer & the Helix), Matt Cunitz (Brightblack Morning Light), Tom Heyman (The Court & Spark), and others, Poor Moon represents both an elaboration and inversion of previous Hiss Golden Messenger efforts, proposing an America at perpetual sundown, wracked by devotion, wrecked by celebration. Named in homage to the Canned Heat track penned by the immortal Blind Owl, Poor Moon conjures the unsteady experience of soul at home in the wild, and it stands as a captivating document of Southern songcraft. Poor Moon remastered by Chris Boerner at Kitchen Mastering. Artwork reimagined by Sam Smith (Lateness of Dancers).


A1 Blue Country Mystic 4:07
A2 Call Him Daylight 3:31
A3 Drummer Down 2:51
A4 Under All The Land 3:49
A5 Westering 4:18
A6 Pittsboro Farewell (Two Monarchs) 2:50
B1 Super Blue (Two Days Clean) 4:35
B2 Jesus Shot Me In The Head 5:07
B3 O Little Light 3:02
B4 A Working Man Can't Make It No Way 3:46
B5 Dreamwood 3:28
B6 Balthazar's Song 3:43



  • Arranged By [Strings] – Graham Taylor
  • Artwork – Alex Jako
  • Backing Vocals – Elizabeth Taylor 
  • Backing Vocals [Harmony Vocals] – Dennis Taylor 
  • Banjo – Nathan Bowles
  • Design, Layout – Brendan Greaves
  • Drums – Terry Lonergan
  • Fiddle – Joseph Decosimo
  • Guitar – M.C. Taylor, Yair Evnine
  • Guitar, Lap Steel Guitar, Bass – Scott Hirsch
  • Mandolin – M.C. Taylor, Scott Hirsch
  • Mastered By – Joe Lambert
  • Organ [Hammond & Vox Continental], Electric Piano [Rhodes], Clavinet, Piano, Celesta, Gong, Carillon – Matt Cunitz
  • Pedal Steel Guitar – Tom Heyman
  • Percussion – Terry Lonergan
  • Photography By – Abigail Martin
  • Piano – Hans Chew
  • Recorded By – M.C. Taylor
  • Recorded By [Assistant], Mixed By [Assistant] – Anthony Puglisi 
  • Recorded By, Mixed By – Scott Hirsch
  • Saxophone – Crowmeat Bob
  • Viola – Corinne Olsen
  • Violin – Alex Wurmbrand, Erick Clark
  • Vocals – M.C. Taylor
  • Written-By – M.C. Taylor (tracks: A1 to B4, B6), Scott Hirsch (tracks: B5)