Pond - 9 - Shuga Exclusive on Opaque Pink Vinyl, 300 made, out 10/1/2021

Covid-19 Updates: What we are doing and what to expect for shipping. Learn More

Akira Sakata & Chikamorachi featuring Masahiko Satoh ‎– Proton Pump - New Vinyl Lp 2018 Family Vineyard Records Pressing with Download (Limited to 500!) - Free Jazz / Avant Garde

Akira Sakata & Chikamorachi featuring Masahiko Satoh ‎– Proton Pump - New Vinyl Lp 2018 Family Vineyard Records Pressing with Download (Limited to 500!) - Free Jazz / Avant Garde

Regular price $18.99 $0.00



Hop aboard a one-way ticket down the rabbit hole to a 4-track odyssey of nothin but good sax and mindful mindlessness encompassed into what can only be Proton Pump. On his latest installment with his legendary block-imploding wrecking crew, Chikamorachi, and longtime key-tickler, Masahiko Satoh, Akira Sakata takes the concept of Jazz as we know and love it, and blends it into a brain-fondling concoction not even Hunter S. Thompson could handle. Saxes scream, drums bounce off the studio walls, pianos explode, and what else can your earholes do than experience something of a carefully-crafted artistic endeavor into the disoriented, disastrous genius Jazz planet that Akira Sakata n the gang have crash landed from. Imagine Monk switching out the reefer for a 3-month indulgence bender road trip with PCP speeding down the local 4-lane interstate in a Bugatti while Pharaoh Sanders is behind the wheel rollin on 3 key-bumps. Throw that into instrumental terms and holy f*ck. Btdubs this nug o' calculated insanity is limited to 500. As a spaghetti-vomiting rapper of the greater 606 area code once uttered, lose yourself. Get dis. Dig. 

Street Date: 2/2/18

Proton Pump is a milestone achievement in the winding career of alto saxophonist, gibberish shrieker and jazz legend Akira Sakata. It’s a lightning-fast, real-time cut-up of melody and bare-knuckle action that swings between the avant garde and hardcore be-bop. Sakata is backed by his famed rhythm crew Chikamorachi -- drummer Chris Corsano and acoustic bassist Darin Gray -- and joined by composer and pianist Masahiko Satoh. Sakata and Satoh emerged out of the late-1960s Tokyo jazz scene -- Satoh already releasing albums and Sakata soon joining the famed The Yamashita Trio -- and while they’ve since become uncompromising pillars of free music and vision this marks their first proper album together. On Proton Pump’s four pieces, Sakata is on absolute top form on alto saxophone and clarinet -- blowing bold melodies with unstoppable momentum and also injecting deep textural fields with his startling vocalizations. Satoh’s piano is hyperbolic throughout as he splatters counterpoints and brilliant tones at dizzying speed. Recorded before a jaw-dropped audience at Pit Inn, Tokyo in November 2015. LP limited to 500 copies worldwide, includes a full-color inner sleeve and download coupon.


A1 Proton Pump 13:57
A2 Bullet Apoptosis 8:01
B1 Chemiosmotic Coupling Of Acorn 16:10
B2 Voyage Of Eukaryote 5:43

Companies, etc.

  • Pressed By – Gotta Groove Records
  • Mastered At – Saff Mastering
  • Recorded At – Pit Inn


  • Acoustic Bass, Percussion – Darin Gray
  • Alto Saxophone, Clarinet, Vocals, Percussion – Akira Sakata
  • Drums, Mixed By [Additional] – Chris Corsano
  • Mastered By – Carl Saff
  • Photography By [Cover & Inner] – Shunichiro Okada
  • Photography By [Live] – Mark Rappaport
  • Piano – Masahiko Satoh
  • Recorded By – Takahiko Watanabe