2019 limited beer glass pre-order

Skeletonwitch - Serpents Unleashed - New Lp 2019 Prosthetic Picture Disc Reissue (Limited to 300 Worldwide!) - Black Metal / Thrash


Street Date: 4/19/19

It's rare for an album's title to describe how it sounds, but on Serpents Unleashed, the fifth outing from Athens, Ohio band Skeletonwitch, it's strangely appropriate. Rampaging straight out of the gates, the album's titular opening track serves as a reminder that this is a band that's not about wasting time or fussing with lengthy, clichéd intros. Instead, these guys rip straight into it with yet another in an increasingly long line of albums that are big on speed and short on running time. In service to their vigorous approach to metal, the band do a great job of not anchoring themselves to any specific genre, instead taking whatever bits and pieces of death metal, black metal, and thrash that have the most metal, and adding them into their supercharged sound. This makes Serpents Unleashed an album that's only predictable insofar as you know it's going to attempt to take you on a vicious, 30-minute hell ride through some of the darkest parts of the metal world. With such a stellar track record under their belt, Skeletonwitch are definitely a band that's worth your time, something they won't ask for very much of.


A1 Serpents Unleashed
A2 Beneath Dead Leaves
A3 I Am Of Death (Hell Has Arrived)
A4 From A Cloudless Sky
A5 Burned From Bone
A6 Unending, Everliving
B1 Blade On The Flesh, Blood On My Hands
B2 This Evil Embrace
B3 Unwept
B4 Born Of The Light That Does Not Shine
B5 More Cruel Than Weak


  • Artwork – John Dyer Baizley
  • Bass – Evan "Loosh" Linger*
  • Drums – Dustin Boltjes
  • Engineer, Producer – Kurt Ballou
  • Guitar – Nate "N8 Feet Under" Garnette*, Scott "Scunt" Hedrick*
  • Layout – Steve Hilson
  • Mastered By – Alan Douches, Mike Placentini
  • Photography – Maurice Nunez
  • Vocals – Chance Garnette
  • Written-By, Performer – Skeletonwitch