2019 limited beer glass pre-order

Bowery Electric ‎– Lushlife - New Vinyl Lp 2019 Beggars Banquet Reissue with Gatefold Jacket - Electronic / Trip Hop / Downtempo


Street Date: 2/1/19

Bowery Electric formed in late 1993 and is comprised of Lawrence Chandler and Martha Schwendener. Lushlife was their third and final album and it was released by Beggars Banquet in early 2000. Lushlife was nearly two years in the making and took even greater strides forward from their previous releases. It teems with atomized sounds, each one opening a portal in the mix, importing a haze of space and history, evoking the distant buzz of the city beyond the studio.

Throughout, gilded strings build, sway and exhale, plugging the music into the sumptuous melancholy of Philly soul, the emotive Mancini-inspired arrangements of Gaye and Mayfield, and the edgy soundtrack scores of David Shire (“All The Presidents Men”, “The Taking Of Pelham 123”). Yet, with all the experiment and variation, Lushlife is actually quite a deliberate and enticing affair for the ear and mind.


A1 Floating World 4:45
A2 Lushlife 7:52
A3 Shook Ones 4:49
A4 Psalms Of Survival 4:40
A5 Soul City 3:41
B1 Freedom Fighter 3:46
B2 Saved 6:10
B3 Deep Blue 4:18
B4 After Landing 3:52
B5 Passages 6:38

Companies, etc.

  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Beggars Banquet Records Ltd.
  • Copyright (c) – Beggars Banquet Records Ltd.


  • Engineer – Lawrence Chandler
  • Mastered By – Andy Van Dette*
  • Photography By – Lawrence Chandler
  • Producer – Bowery Electric
  • Scratches, Sampler, Programmed By, Bass, Guitar, Keyboards, Strings – Lawrence Chandler
  • Vocals, Bass, Guitar, Keyboards, Strings – Martha Schwendener
  • Written-By, Arranged By – Lawrence Chandler, Martha Schwendener


Made in EU. Gatefold sleeve.