New Shuga Exclusive Khruangbin Mordechi record with coloring cover to raise moner for Puerto Rican Arts Alliance

Covid-19 Updates: What we are doing and what to expect for shipping. Learn More

Miles Davis ‎– Porgy And Bess - VG Lp Record 1958 Original Mono 6 Eye Label USA Vinyl - Jazz

Miles Davis ‎– Porgy And Bess - VG Lp Record 1958 Original Mono 6 Eye Label USA Vinyl - Jazz

Regular price $29.99 $0.00

Miles Davis ‎– Porgy And Bess

Columbia ‎– VL 1274
Vinyl, LP, Album, Mono
Mar 1959
Big Band, Modal


A1 The Buzzard Song
A2 Bess, You Is My Woman Now
A3 Gone
A4 Gone, Gone, Gone
A5 Summertime
A6 Bess, Oh Where's My Bess
B1 Prayer (Oh Doctor Jesus)
B2 Fishermen, Strawberry And Devil Crab
B3 My Man's Gone Now
B4 It Ain't Necessarily So
B5 Here Come De Honey Man
B6 I Loves You, Porgy
B7 There's A Boat That's Leaving Soon For New York

Companies, etc.

  • Recorded At – Columbia 30th Street Studio


  • Bass – Paul Chambers (3)
  • Composed By – George Gershwin
  • Conductor – Gil Evans
  • Drums – "Philly" Joe Jones (tracks: A1, A3 to B1, B3, B6, B7), Jimmy Cobb (tracks: A2, B2, B4, B5)
  • Engineer – Ray Moore
  • Flute – Jerome Richardson (tracks: A1, A6, B1), Phil Bodner (tracks: A2 to A5, B2 to B7), Romeo Penque
  • French Horn – Gunther Schuller, Julius Watkins, Willie Ruff
  • Liner Notes – Charles Edward Smith
  • Photography By [Front Cover] – Roy De Carava*
  • Producer – Cal Lampley, Teo Macero
  • Saxophone – Cannonball Adderly*, Daniel B. Banks*
  • Trombone – Frank Rehak, Jimmy Cleveland, Joseph Bennett, Dick Hixon*
  • Trumpet – Bernie Glow, Ernie Royal, Johnny Coles, Louis R. Mucci
  • Trumpet, Flugelhorn – Miles Davis
  • Tuba – Bill Barber


Recorded 7/22/1958, 7/29/1958, 8/04/1958, and 8/18/1958 at the Columbia 30th Street Studio in New York City.

Original stereo LP version (mono version cat.#: CL 1274).
"6-eye" record labels.