2019 limited beer glass pre-order

Neil Young ‎– Songs For Judy - New Vinyl 2 Lp 2018 Reprise Pressing with Gatefold Jacket - Folk Rock / Country Rock


Street Date: 12/14/18

Songs For Judyis the debut release on Shakey Pictures Records, Young’s own imprint distributed by Reprise Records.
Songs For Judyis athoroughly engaging collection of live acoustic performances culled from Neil's November 1976 solo tour and features twenty-two songs recorded at various cities along the tour. This song cycle of live recordings is particularly powerful and unique. Young had spent much of the year traveling around the world on tour with Crazy Horse. When touring on his own, he recharged and focused on songs that would not surface in recorded form for several years. Of the albums many treasures, "No One Seems To Know" would not see the light of day until now and it remains unreleased in any other iteration.
The raw versions of the tracks found on Songs For Judy reflect an artist completely unvarnished and unafraid to allow the songs to breath and to find their own shape when performed in a solo setting. Songs written in that era would come into focus and then seemingly disappear only to re-enter Young's orbit somewhere down the road. "White Line" and "Give Me Strength" are such examples of finding the light in 1990 and 2017 respectively. It's also fascinating to hear Young revisit early gems such as Springfield's "Mr. Soul" ('67), "Here We Are In The Years" ('68), and "The Losing End" ('69) from some of his earliest solo recordings which remain as timeless as ever.


A1 Songs For Judy Intro 3:26
A2 Too Far Gone 3:15
A3 No One Seems To Know 2:29
A4 Heart Of Gold 2:54
A5 White Line 2:46
A6 Love Is A Rose 2:20
B7 After The Gold Rush 4:16
B1 Human Highway 3:04
B2 Tell Me Why 3:35
B3 Mr. Soul 3:06
B4 Mellow My Mind 2:30
B5 Give Me Strength 3:27
B6 A Man Needs A Maid 4:54
C1 Roll Another Number 2:22
C2 Journey Through The Past 3:17
C3 Harvest 2:43
C4 Campaigner 3:31
C5 Old Laughing Lady 5:18
D1 The Losing End 3:51
D2 Here We Are In The Years 3:56
D3 The Needle And The Damage Done 2:27
D4 Pocahontas 3:49
D5 Sugar Mountain 6:08

Companies, etc.

  • Manufactured By – Reprise Records
  • Distributed By – Reprise Records
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Shakey Pictures Records
  • Copyright (c) – Shakey Pictures Records
  • Mastered At – Redwood Digital
  • Mastered At – Bernie Grundman Mastering


  • Artwork [Art] – Daryl Hannah
  • Design, Layout – Alex Tenta
  • Liner Notes – Cameron Crowe, Joel Bernstein
  • Mastered By – Chris Bellman
  • Photography By – Joel Bernstein
  • Post Production – John Hanlon
  • Producer – Cameron Crowe, David Briggs, Joel Bernstein, Neil Young
  • Recorded By – Joel Bernstein
  • Recorded By, Mastered By – Tim Mulligan
  • Vocals, Acoustic Guitar – Neil Young
  • Written-By – Neil Young