New Shuga Exclusive Khruangbin Mordechi record with coloring cover to raise moner for Puerto Rican Arts Alliance

Covid-19 Updates: What we are doing and what to expect for shipping. Learn More

Mountain Man (Amelia Meath of Sylvan Esso) - Magic Ship - New Vinyl Lp 2018 Nonesuch Records - Folk / Appalachian Folk

Mountain Man (Amelia Meath of Sylvan Esso) - Magic Ship - New Vinyl Lp 2018 Nonesuch Records - Folk / Appalachian Folk

Regular price $19.99 $0.00
The trio had formed during their Vermont college years. "We all have this secret access to each other's feelings, whether or not we're singing. That is what creates the alchemy when we are singing together," says Sarlé.
The three musicians went in different directions after the Made the Harbor tour: Meath moved to Durham, North Carolina and eventually started Sylvan Esso. Sarlé headed for a Zen center in California. Sauser-Monnig first moved to Minnesota, then to a farm in North Carolina. They eventually all ended up in North Carolina, spending time together as old friends. They reunited as a band last summer at the Eaux Claires music festival, on a tiny, cabin-like stage tucked into a forest, in front of an unusually large audience hanging on every note.
Meath says, "When the first Eaux Claires happened, I realized it was the perfect place for Mountain Man to play, if Mountain Man was ever going to play again. Cute boys stood in stinging nettles to hear us. So many people cried. And it felt really good, just like it always did." Mountain Man reconvened a few months later at Meath's home studio in Durham to begin what would become Magic Ship.

Magic Ship-a reflection on the joys, follies, and oddities of existence-is the band's second album. The songs on Magic Ship distill eight years of experience since their 2010 debut album, Made the Harbor, of sights seen, pleasures had, feelings hurt, forgiveness extended. "Mountain Man share that rare, innate gift of almost supernatural harmonizing," says NPR. "Hauntingly beautiful."

Track List

Side A Side B
01 Window
02 AGT
03 Baby Where You Are
04 Rang Tang Ring Toon
05 Stella
06 Blue Mountain
07 Moon
01 Boat
02 Whale Song
03 Fish
04 Underwear
05 Slow Wake Up Sunday Morning
06 Bright Morning Stars
07 Guilt