Various - Reggae Mandela - New Vinyl Lp 2019 VP Records Compilation - Reggae

Various - Reggae Mandela - New Vinyl Lp 2019 VP Records Compilation - Reggae

Regular price $14.99 $0.00

Quantity - 2

Street Date: 2/8/19

12 revolutionary recordings that mashed down apartheid – featuring The Mighty Travelers, Johnny Osbourne, Yami Bolo and more...  As the truth about the inhuman conditions in South African apartheid became commonly known around the world, countless Jamaican artists were inspired to voice their concerns and extol praises on the nation’s most prominent freedom fighter… Nelson Mandela. The musical support for Nelson Mandela and dissent and disgust of the apartheid system from Jamaica was not only confined to culturally inclined artists who had fought long and hard to assert their “declarations of rights” but also from every corner of reggae music. From velvet voiced vocalists renowned for their romantically inclined love songs to the “rockstone” delivery of dance hall deejays, established veterans and youthful newcomers all came together to address the common cause of South African freedom. Feature tracks include Half Pint ‘Freedom Fighters,’ and Yami Bolo “Free Mandela.’


Side A Side B
01 South Africa  - By Mighty Travellers
02 Free South Africa  - By Frankie Jones
03 Freedom Fighters  - By Half Pint
04 Wipe Out Aparthied  - By Johnny Osbourne
05 Nah Go To South Africa  - By Sugar Minott
06 Mash Down Apartheid  - By Mystic Revealers
01 Hanging Tree  - By Junior Delgado
02 Free Mandela  - By Yami Bolo
03 The Real Enemy  - By The Mighty Diamonds
04 Mandela You're Free  - By Barrington Levy
05 Mr Mandela African Hero  - By Clive Hylton
06 Thank You Mr. Mandela  - By Carlene Davis