Shuga Records Multi-tone Chicago compilation

Miles Davis ‎– Porgy And Bess (1958) - Mint- 1987 Mono Remaster Audiophile Press - Jazz

This product is currently unavailable. You can sign up for an email notification when we get it back in stock.


A1 The Buzzard Song 4:03
A2 Bess, You Is My Woman Now 5:10
A3 Gone 3:32
A4 Gone, Gone, Gone 2:01
A5 Summertime 3:15
A6 Bess, Oh Where's My Bess 4:24
B1 Prayer (Oh Doctor Jesus) 4:34
B2 Fishermen, Strawberry And Devil Crab 4:02
B3 My Man's Gone Now 6:02
B4 It Ain't Necessarily So 4:33
B5 Here Come De Honey Man 1:00
B6 I Loves You, Porgy 4:03
B7 There's A Boat That's Leaving Soon For New York 3:21


  • Composed By – George Gershwin
  • Conductor – Gil Evans
  • Double Bass – Paul Chambers (3)
  • Drums – "Philly" Joe Jones (tracks: A1, A3 to B1, B3, B6, B7), Jimmy Cobb (tracks: A2, B2, B4, B5)
  • Engineer – Ray Moore
  • Flute – Jerome Richardson (tracks: A1, A6, B1), Phil Bodner (tracks: A2 to A5, B2 to B7), Romeo M. Penque*
  • French Horn – Gunther Schuller, Julius B. Watkins*, Willie Ruff
  • Lyrics By – DuBose Heyward, Ira Gershwin
  • Mastered By – Vlado Meller
  • Mastered By [Digital Master Prepared] – Teo Macero
  • Producer – Cal Lampley, Teo Macero
  • Saxophone – Julian E. Adderly*, Daniel B. Banks*
  • Trombone – Frank J. Rehak*, Jimmy Cleveland, Joseph Bennett, Richard Hixon*
  • Trumpet – Bernie Glow, Ernie Royal, John Coles*, Louis R. Mucci
  • Trumpet, Flugelhorn – Miles Davis
  • Tuba – John Barber
  • Written By – Heyward - G Gershwin - I Gershwin


Digitally remastered directly from the original analog tapes.
All tracks ASCAP
Manufactured by Columbia Records/CBS Inc.
Recorded at the Columbia 30th Street Studio in New York City.
Mastered at CBS Studio, New York.
B3, A3, A4 recorded 22nd July 1958
B5, A2, B4, B2: recorded 29th July 1958
B1, A6, A1: recorded 4th August 1958
A5, B7, B6: recorded 18th August 1958