Murloc signing and acoustic performance april 20th
2019 limited beer glass pre-order

Michael Chapman - True North - New Vinyl Lp 2019 Paradise of Bachelors Limited Pressing on 'Red Wine' Colored Vinyl with Download - Folk


Street Date: 2/8/19

The masterful follow-up to his universally celebrated 2017 album 50, Michael Chapman’s True North finds the elder statesman of British songwriting and guitar plumbing an even deeper deep and honing an ever keener edge to his iconic writing. This authoritative set of predominantly new, and utterly devastating, songs hews to a more intimate sonic signature—more atmospheric, textural, and minimalist than 50, stately and melancholy in equal measure. Recorded in rural West Wales, True North unflinchingly surveys home and horizon, traveling from the Bahamas to Texas to the Leeds of Chapman’s childhood, haunted by the mirages of memory and intimations of mortality. Joining him on this introspective journey is a cast of old friends and new disciples: once again Steve Gunn produces and plays guitar, and fellow UK songwriting hero Bridget St John sings, collaborating with cellist Sarah Smout and legendary pedal steel player BJ Cole, who has accompanied everyone from John Cale to Scott Walker, Elton John to Terry Allen, Felt to Björk to Brian Eno.


A1 It's Too Late
A2 After All This Time
A3 Vanity & Pride
A4 Eleuthera
A5 Bluesman
A6 Full Bottle, Empty Heart
B1 Truck Song
B2 Caddo Lake
B3 Hell To Pay
B4 Youth Is Wasted On The Young
B5 Bon Ton Roolay

Companies, etc.

  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Paradise Of Bachelors
  • Copyright (c) – Paradise Of Bachelors
  • Published By – Bucks Music Group Ltd.
  • Recorded At – Mwnci Studios
  • Recorded At – Snafu Studios 
  • Mixed At – Mwnci Studios
  • Mixed At – Snafu Studios 
  • Mastered At – Bonati Mastering
  • Lacquer Cut At – Bonati Mastering


  • Cello – Sarah Smout
  • Design, Layout – Brendan Greaves
  • Guitar, Drums, Recorded By [Additional Recording By], Producer, Photography By [Label Photos By] – Steve Gunn
  • Mastered By, Lacquer Cut By – Josh Bonati
  • Pedal Steel Guitar – BJ Cole
  • Photography By [Rephotographed And Edited By] – Alexandra Giarraputo-Pym
  • Recorded By, Mixed By – Jimmy Robertson
  • Vocals – Bridget St John
  • Vocals, Guitar, Bass, Songwriter [All Songs By], Photography By [Jacket Photos By], Design, Layout – Michael Chapman