2019 limited beer glass pre-order

MONO - Nowhere Now Here - New Vinyl 2 LP 2019 Temporary Residence Limited Pressing on 'Pearlescent Aluminum & Bronze' Colored Vinyl - Japanese Post-Rock


Street Date: 1/25/19

The conflict and correlation between dark and light is a universal theme with a historically rich history. Musically, perhaps no band in the 21st Century has mined that relationship more consistently or effectively than Japan’s MONO.

Across 10 albums in 20 years, MONO have convincingly reflected the quietest and most chaotic parts of life through their music. Their ever-expanding instrumental palette – which began in earnest in 1999 with the traditional guitar-bass-drums rock band setup – has evolved to include as many as 30 orchestral instruments. Now, on Nowhere Now Here, the band add electronics to their repertoire – perhaps inspired by guitarist/composer Takaakira ‘Taka’ Goto’s recent collaboration with John McEntire, the beguiling Behind the Shadow Drops. Nowhere Now Here also sees MONO’s first-ever lineup change, adding new drummer Dahm Majuri Cipolla (The Phantom Family Halo) to the core trio of Goto, Tamaki, and Yoda. Tamaki also makes her vocal debut here, singing into the shadows of vintage Nico on the poetically hazy “Breathe.”

The unlikely career of MONO has taken them to virtually every corner of the planet, several times over. Those corners have all left indelible marks on their music, as it drills deeper towards the sound of feeling not quite human and all too human – often at the same time.


A1 God Bless 1:45
A2 After You Comes The Flood 5:37
A3 Breathe 5:25
B1 Nowhere, Now Here 10:25
B2 Far And Further 5:42
C1 Sorrow 8:31
C2 Parting 4:26
D1 Meet Us Where The Night Ends 9:06
D2 Funeral Song 3:22
D3 Vanishing, Vanishing Maybe 6:15

Companies, etc.

  • Copyright (c) – Mono Of Japan, LLC
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Temporary Residence Ltd.


  • Art Direction, Design – Jeremy DeVine
  • Artwork – Ahmed Emad Eldin
  • Band [Mono] – Dahm, Takaakira 'Taka' Goto, Tamaki, Yoda 
  • Cello – Alison Chesley, Anna Steinhoff, Melissa Bach, Nora Barton
  • Composed By [Compositions] – Takaakira 'Taka' Goto
  • Conductor – Max Crawford*
  • Design [Titles] – Julien Levy, Takaakira 'Taka' Goto
  • Lacquer Cut By – BW
  • Lyrics By – Julien Levy, Takaakira 'Taka' Goto, Tamaki
  • Mastered By – Bob Weston*
  • Producer – Jeremy DeVine, Steve Albini, Takaakira 'Taka' Goto
  • Recorded By, Mixed By – Steve Albini
  • Trumpet – Chad McCullough, Gerald Bailey 
  • Violin – Andra Kulans, Inger Peterson Carle, Jennifer Dunne, Stacia Spencer, Susan Voelz, Vannia Phillips


Exclusive Retail Edition