Shuga Records pre order for our December 2019 Reissue of Mungion's Scary Blankets. Limited Edition of 100 records signed and on random color vinyl.

Shuga Record's Pressing of Footlight District's 2019 Record Fairytales For the Dark Ages. Limitewd to 150 Copies, signed and pressed on random colored vinyl.

Cage The Elephant - Social Cues - New Vinyl Lp 2019 RCA  with Gatefold Jacket - Alt / Indie Rock

Cage The Elephant - Social Cues - New Vinyl Lp 2019 RCA with Gatefold Jacket - Alt / Indie Rock

Regular price $21.99 $0.00

Street Date: 4/19/19

Recording took in both Nashville (Battle Tapes Recording, Blackbird Studio) and Los Angeles (The Village Recording Studio), and production was handled by John Hill, known for his work with Florence and the Machine and Portugal. The Man. Tom Elmhirst was tapped to mix, while Randy Merrill mastered the project in New York.

Social Cues was written while frontman Matt Shultz was grappling with the dissolution of a relationship. In an effort to better sort through everything, he “explored the hidden recesses of his psyche, creating characters to tell different parts of his personal story,” according to a statement.

“It can be a vehicle to act out things that are hard to confront,” Shutlz explains. “When I’m creating, I try to put myself in a reactive state of improvisational thought. I let images just arise in my mind and wait for it to evoke an emotional response and then when it does, I know I’m on to something. I was watching a lot of Fassbinder films, like World on a Wire and The Bitter Tears of Petra von Kant. I was thinking about their beauty coupled with the graphic surrealism of [Darren] Aronofsky.”

01. Broken Boy
02. Social Cues
03. Black Madonna
04. Night Running (feat. Beck)
05. Skin and Bones
06. Ready to Let Go
07. House of Glass
08. Love’s the Only Way
09. The War is Over
10. Dance Dance
11. What I’m Becoming
12. Tokyo Smoke
13. Goodbye