2019 limited beer glass pre-order

Lucinda Williams - Happy Woman Blues (1980) - New Vinyl Lp 2019 Smithsonian Folkways Reissue - Folk Rock

This product is currently unavailable. You can sign up for an email notification when we get it back in stock.

Street Date: 3/1/19

Lucinda Williams, whose musical style defies easy categorization, recorded her first album of original songs in 1980, supported by a six-member band. Her songs are a mix of traditional and alternative country, folk, and blues that reflect her Louisiana roots. The Village Voice music critic Robert Christgau gave Happy Woman Blues an "A–" and described Williams as a "guileless throwback to the days of the acoustic blues mamas" who "means what she says and says what she means." The vinyl reissue of Happy Woman Blues, which includes a liner notes booklet with the song lyrics, is part of the Smithsonian Folkways Vinyl Reissue Series, revisiting some of the most iconic and influential albums in our collection.


A1 Lafayette 3:40
A2 I Lost It 2:52
A3 Maria 3:45
A4 Happy Woman Blues 3:08
A5 King Of Hearts 4:02
B1 Rolling Along 2:46
B2 One Night Stand 2:53
B3 Howlin' At Midnight 3:49
B4 Hard Road 2:29
B5 Louisiana Man 2:23
B6 Sharp Cutting Wings (Song To A Poet) 3:26


Companies, etc.

  • Licensed From – Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
  • Manufactured By – Runt Productions, LLC
  • Distributed By – Runt Productions, LLC
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Folkways Records & Service Corp.
  • Copyright (c) – Folkways Records & Service Corp.
  • Recorded At – Sugar Hill Studios



  • Bass, Backing Vocals – Rex Bell
  • Drums – Ira Wilkes
  • Electric Guitar – Andre Mathews (tracks: A3 to B1, B3)
  • Engineer, Producer – Mickey Moody
  • Fiddle – Malcolm Smith (tracks: A1, A2, B2, B3, B5)
  • Liner Notes – Tom T. Hall
  • Slide Guitar – Andre Mathews (tracks: A4)
  • Viola – Malcolm Smith (tracks: A5, B5)
  • Vocals, Written-By, Acoustic Guitar, Producer – Lucinda Williams



Recorded at Sugar Hill Studios Houston, Texas, April, May, June 1980