Pond - 9 - Shuga Exclusive on Opaque Pink Vinyl, 300 made, out 10/1/2021

Covid-19 Updates: What we are doing and what to expect for shipping. Learn More

Donald Fagen ‎– The Nightfly (1982) - New LP Record 2021 Warner Europe Import 180 gram Vinyl - Pop Rock / Fusion
Donald Fagen ‎– The Nightfly (1982) - New LP Record 2021 Warner Europe Import 180 gram Vinyl - Pop Rock / Fusion

Donald Fagen ‎– The Nightfly (1982) - New LP Record 2021 Warner Europe Import 180 gram Vinyl - Pop Rock / Fusion

Regular price $27.99 $0.00

Donald Fagen ‎– The Nightfly

Warner Records ‎– R1 23696
Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, 180 gram
28 May 2021
Jazz, Rock, Pop
Fusion, Pop Rock


A1 I.G.Y. (International Geophysical Year)
Composed By, Arranged By – Donald Fagen
A2 Green Flower Street
Composed By, Arranged By – Donald Fagen
A3 Ruby Baby
Arranged By – Donald FagenComposed By – Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller*
A4 Maxine
Composed By, Arranged By – Donald Fagen
B1 New Frontier
Composed By, Arranged By – Donald Fagen
B2 The Nightfly
Composed By, Arranged By – Donald Fagen
B3 The Goodbye Look
Composed By, Arranged By – Donald Fagen
B4 Walk Between Raindrops
Composed By, Arranged By – Donald Fagen

Companies, etc.

  • Pressed By – Optimal Media GmbH


  • Arranged By [Horns] – Donald Fagen, Rob Mounsey
  • Art Direction – George Delmerico
  • Backing Vocals – Daniel Lazerus (tracks: A2), Frank Floyd (tracks: A1, A2, B2), Gordon Grody (tracks: A1), Leslie Miller (tracks: B4), Starz Vanderlocket (tracks: B1), Valerie Simpson (tracks: A1, A2, A3, B2, B3), Zack Sanders* (tracks: A1, A2, B2)
  • Bass – Abraham Laboriel (tracks: B1), Anthony Jackson (tracks: A1, A3), Chuck Rainey (tracks: A2), Marcus Miller (tracks: A4, B2, B3), Will Lee (tracks: B4)
  • Drums – Ed Green* (tracks: A4, B1), James Gadson (tracks: A1, A3), Jeff Porcaro (tracks: A1, A2, A3, B2, B3), Steve Jordan (tracks: B4)
  • Engineer [Assistant] – Cheryl Smith, Mike Morongell*, Robin Lane*, Wayne Yurgelun*
  • Engineer [Chief] – Roger Nichols
  • Engineer [Digital Maintenance, 3M] – Bill Roach, Jiri Donovsky
  • Engineer [Digital Maintenance, Soundworks] – Mike Morongell*, Wayne Yurgelun*
  • Engineer [Overdub] – Daniel Lazerus
  • Euphonium – Dave Bargeron (tracks: A4)
  • Flugelhorn – Randy Brecker (tracks: A3, A4)
  • Guitar – Dean Parks (tracks: A2, B3), Hugh McCracken (tracks: A1, A3, B2), Larry Carlton (tracks: A2, A3, A4, B1, B2, B3, B4), Rick Derringer (tracks: A2, B2), Steve Khan (tracks: B3)
  • Harmonica – Hugh McCracken (tracks: B1)
  • Lacquer Cut By – cB*
  • Liner Notes – D.F.*
  • Mastered By [Original Mastering, Masterdisk, N.Y.C.] – Bob Ludwig
  • Percussion – Roger Nichols (tracks: A1), Starz Vanderlocket (tracks: A1, A2, B1, B3)
  • Photography By – James Hamilton (5)
  • Piano – Greg Phillinganes (tracks: A1, A2, A3, A4, B3), Michael Omartian (tracks: A3, B1, B2)
  • Producer – Gary Katz
  • Saxophone – Dave Tofani (tracks: A1, A4), Michael Brecker (tracks: A1, A3, A4), Ronnie Cuber (tracks: A1, A4)
  • Sequenced By, Percussion, Effects [Special Effects] – Roger Nichols, Wendel II
  • Set Designer [Set Design And Construction] – Gale Sasson, Vern Yenor
  • Synthesizer – Greg Phillinganes (tracks: B3, B4), Rob Mounsey (tracks: A1, A2, B2)
  • Synthesizer, Synth [Synth Blues Harp] – Donald Fagen (tracks: A1)
  • Tracking By, Mixed By [Mixdown] – Elliot Scheiner
  • Trombone – Dave Bargeron (tracks: A1)
  • Trumpet – Randy Brecker (tracks: A1, A3)


Made in Germany. Limited 180 gram repressing.

Issued with printed inner sleeve with lyrics + credits, and black poly-lined sleeve.

Track publishers:
All songs © 1982 Freejunket Music ASCAP. Ruby Baby © 1955, 1963 Chappell & Co. Inc./Quintet Music, Inc./Bienstock Pub. Co. ASCAP All Rights adm. by Chappell & Co., Inc. (Intersong Music, Publishers).

©℗ 1982 Warner Bros. Records Inc. for the U.S. & WEA International Inc. for the world outside of the U.S.

Track A1 title appears as "I.G.Y." on jacket and label.

Recorded and mixed entirely on 3M digital 32 track and 4 track machines at Soundworks Digital Audio/Video Recording Studios, N.Y., Village Recorders, L.A. and Automated Sound, N.Y.
Original Mastering: at Masterdisk, N.Y.C.
Jeff Porcaro courtesy of Columbia Records
Valerie Simpson courtesy of Capitol Records
Greg Phillinganes courtesy of Planet Records

"Note: The songs on this album represent certain fantasies that might have been entertained by a young man growing up in the remote suburbs of a northeastern city during the late fifties and early sixties, i.e., one of my general height, weight and build."

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 603497844876