Shuga Records Multi-tone Chicago compilation

Loviatar ‎– S/T debut - New Vinyl 2017 Prosthetic Records Pressing on 'Gold and Black Swirl' Vinyl (Limited to 300!) - Doom Metal / Post Rock


Street Date: 8/11/17

LOVIATAR (pronounced low-vye-ah-tar) are a metal band from Canada whose sound borrows equally from the hazy gloom of My Bloody Valentine and the crushing riffs of Isis. Clearly sung vocals, equal parts sombre and soaring, set them apart from others in the genre. Thunderous elements of doom and post-metal contrast with hypnotic moments of atmospheric introspection. Their art is inspired by the mysteries of ancient mythology: the band takes its name from an ancient Scandinavian death goddess and frequently evokes themes of epic fantasy in their imagery and lyrics.

Formed in 2010, Loviatar has independently released a series of singles and EPs, and have been tapped to support such acts as Red Fang, Skeletonwitch, and Blood Ceremony. In 2014, they shifted production to their newly built studio deep in the forested hills outside the nation’s capital and have now completed their first full length LP.


A1 Stygian Wyrm 18:16
B1 Blind Goddess of the Nine Plagues 19:09

Companies, etc.

  • Recorded At – Wolf Lake Studios
  • Mixed At – The Bond Cave
  • Mastered At – The Bond Cave


  • Bass – Mike Bond
  • Drums, Percussion, Backing Vocals – J.P. Sadek
  • Engineer [Assistant Engineer] – J.P. Sadek
  • Lead Guitar, Synthesizer – Shane Whitbread
  • Recorded By, Mixed By, Mastered By – Mike Bond
  • Vocals, Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar – J.D. Gobeil


Debut full length from Loviatar. First release on Prosthetic Records. 300 copies on Gold and Black Swirl vinyl with 2-sided insert listing credits and lyrics.